top of page

LIFE IN HAWAII 9/05/2014 (Hello Hawaii)

Updated: Feb 17, 2019

Good Morning Hawaii,

9/5/2014


Well, we are here! We have arrived!

Hang loose, be happy, is the Hawaiian!

                               


At the banyan tree in Waikiki

I can't believe it, I live here!


Board walk Waikiki

The first couple of weeks, it was like being on vacation. We went to the beach every day, the Ala Moana Mall is the biggest mall ever. Our first weekend here we went and hiked Diamond Head, good job Julie that was work.




My boss Janice Helbling told me and Ariel to please post lots of pictures on Facebook for her, so she could keep up with us, and she is coming in October to see us. ( Janice is like a mom to Joe and I/ Grandma to the kids and I want to be just like her when I grow up, LOVE HER LOTS)




Sean's 18th Birthday at Bubba Gump

So Ariel and I got on it for her. From the second we got here we started taking pictures for her and putting them on Facebook. It really was kind of fun sharing our life here like that. I really wasn’t a Facebook person before now.



We picked up our cars’ on 6/11/14, I missed my car, great to have again. So we started familiarizing our selves with Honolulu/Waikiki. People here can be very scary drivers. It wasn’t long and my poor car got hit by a truck on 6/19/14 coming home from Safeway, not even a mile way.


So here in Hawaii you have to have your Real Estate license to be a Property Manager and that’s what I did in Springfield, OR for 7 years, so you have to take a 60 hour class, pass their test, then take a State test, to get your license.



So I got a class, it started June 23, runs for 8 days, so it’s learning a lot in 7 days because the 8th day is the test. I got a book. It’s only 478 pagers long, to read in that many day’s.  Yay Julie, let’s teach an old dog a new trick.

School was good, liked everyone in it, had a great teacher. Scott Alan was my teachers name, he is an attorney, writer and real estate instructor. Very busy guy.

So the TEST was on Wednesday the 25th, felt good about it, thought it wasn’t to bad, but I bombed it, that was hard, but I can retake it the next Friday the 11th, OK good. So this time I go in and well only got half the test right, still have to get the other half passed now, but the next test isn’t till September 18th. That’s a long time to get a job, because no one will hire you without it. Sucks for me yay!


Anyway better things to think about, so the next weekend 6/21/14 me and the kids go to the Koko stairs, well that’s a kick in the pants hike, I only made it half way. The kids didn’t get to the top either.



Then Ariel started work that next weekend, so we didn’t go try again to see if we could do it. Life became life again. Sean also got a job at Oakley in the Ala Moana mall.






Joe got here 6/30/14, yay missed him lot’s, so lot’s of the beach and catching up with things we did. Walking every morning at Waikiki Beach. That’s when I started Good Morning Hawaii pictures. That next weekend Joe and I go to Koko stairs.  Joe gets to the top, no problem, me not so much, just keep swimming LOL.







TILL NEXT TIME





4 views0 comments
bottom of page